top of page

BA

Computer Arts

Blog

Week 3 - Sub-D Meshes

Updated: Oct 7, 2018



This week we looked into Sub-D meshes in our 3D Production Methods class. The aim of this was to learn the fundamentals of Sub-D modelling, and implement our new knowledge into 3D modelling. We were given a reference image that contained 4 objects that were created in Maya. Our task was to essentially recreate the models exactly. I found this task pretty hard to do. My lack of knowledge in Maya became frustrating, but forced me to learn how to navigate the software. I know that my 'copies' are not exact, though I imitated the objects in the image as closely as I could. This task was really useful, and helped me understand the software far more than before.


Reference image provided for the task.


Alongside creating my own Sub-D meshes, I was required to go play some videogames and identify what I believed could be a Sub-D mesh with multiple LOD's (Level of Detail). Whilst playing the games I took some screengrabs of objects that would likely have multiple LOD's. I decided I would capture my screenshots from Naughty Dog's "The Last of Us" as it it is one of my all-time favourite games.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page